New in town, looking for the inside on off the beaten path

Salaam guys,

I am new to KL, would love to meet locals, or americans who can guide me on interesting places to go.
I like sightseeing, meeting people and experiencing new cultures. A little about me, I work in property management in USA for the last 15 yrs. and would like to start a new adventure in KL... :)

Salaam!
Zoie

Welcome to Malaysia.

Malaysia is a terrific country with three major cultures, and a lot of British influence.
It's an easy country for an English speaking expat as so many people can converse in that tongue.

People are generally friendly in Malaysia, but cities in every country have problems, so beware of crime, especially at night.
Con men are your most likely danger.
The two big ones:

My daughter/niece/whoever is going to <Your country - they know as they've just asked>, will you help her out when she gets there - and please pay for her ticket.
I used to tell them Australia, then apologise for my error in country as I though they were asking where my hat was from. That about ruins their con in one.

The other is making friends, then asking you back to the house, then the card table comes out, and by the way, my grannie is really ill - can you pay her medical bills please?

I know of the odd one that's fallen for that, a Japanese girl I met got really ripped off, so just avoid them, or scream a bit.

Loads of people out there, just get into the local cultures, and you'll have a great time, meeting people as you go.

Hello n welcome, very jealous. Hoping to move to Malaysia in the foreseeable future