Things to do in Jakarta during the weekends

Hi,

What do you usually do on your weekends in Jakarta?

Are there any places to visit, any activities, any events or festivals regularly organized you would like to recommend?

What are your top tips for the weekend in Jakarta?

Thank you in advance for sharing your experience, ;)

Christine

Here is an old link to a blog post I did regarding this a while back

http://mylifejakarta.blogspot.com/2011/ … a.html?m=0

Or this

http://mylifejakarta.blogspot.com/2015/ … y.html?m=0

Or this
http://mylifejakarta.blogspot.com/2015/ … a.html?m=0

My blog is full of things I have done on a weekend so its a place to start for some.

This is very nice topic...i look forward to read replies... since i am new in jakarta and looking for friends...cheers .Hany

on sunday you can going to senayan and sudirman for CFD (car free day), every sunday many people go to CFD for jogging, running, cycling, etc, and there are also many event you can see.

As was mentioned, Car Free Day along the Thamrin stretch from around 6 am to late morning 10.30 am is highly recommended.
In the near future, when the MRT train system and Bunderan Hotel Indonesia (HI) Green Park are setup, there would be walkways along the roads for legalised roadstalls as planned.
It will be the centre for Central Jakarta, similar like Orchard Road in Singapore.

Another good place to go is Ancol.   https://www.ancol.com/
You are free to roam and wander around within a huge area.
Within there are many attractions as well that you can enter after paying an additional entrance fee.
From Theme Parks roller coaster, Ocean Animals, and Water Fun World.

There is a fabulous Bandar Djakarta live seafood restaurant that you gotta try at least once, when you are there.

I'm unsure about Ancol.
It's good for the kids but some of the places really know how to charge.
I was less than sure it was value for money so I hung in the van for the last things.