Question about teaching experience -v- qualifications

Hello all.

I know there are many questions regarding teaching English here already, but I have a question regarding my own experience. I only posses an online TEFL and a Diploma in IT, however I have one years worth of teaching experience already.

I have taught adults and younger learners (12-15 yo) on a full-time basis just over one year ago. I am in my thirties and come from the UK. I am white.

Will my lack of higher-end qualifications be a major drawback in finding work (possibly in HCMC)? Or should I be able to pick something up fairly easily?

Also it would be great to hear from any current teachers on here, and possibly even meet up at some point :-)

I am currently in Nha Trang, but I believe there will be more opportunity in HCMC so I will be moving there in a few days.

Thanks!

AlanUK79 wrote:

Hello all.

I know there are many questions regarding teaching English here already, but I have a question regarding my own experience. I only posses an online TEFL and a Diploma in IT, however I have one years worth of teaching experience already.

I have taught adults and younger learners (12-15 yo) on a full-time basis just over one year ago. I am in my thirties and come from the UK. I am white.

Will my lack of higher-end qualifications be a major drawback in finding work (possibly in HCMC)? Or should I be able to pick something up fairly easily?

Also it would be great to hear from any current teachers on here, and possibly even meet up at some point :-)

I am currently in Nha Trang, but I believe there will be more opportunity in HCMC so I will be moving there in a few days.

Thanks!

Hi Alan, Hanoi seems to be the place where experience /qualifications/colour, or even being a NES doesn't really matter much, ( unless of course you want to do things legally.  But the 3 month positions still get you around that. ).