Why technician visa whem I am an engineer

Dear frds,
I have got an offer to work in SABIC thru contracting company. I am a mechanical engineer with 8 years of exp. I have been given family status. but company is saying they will provide technician visa rather than engineer visa. why is it so? what are the dis advantage of it?

i am not sure,,but maybe it's for saudization purposes..double check with them again..

all the best.

Thanks malla1983.

Dear Experienced expats,
kindly share your experience. its urgent.
Thanks

Your Contracting Co did not get the Eng. visa & giving you technician visa, disadvantage are you may did not get family visa, as your degree will not match with ur profession, you cannot travel within GCC countries due to your profession.

Batter  to ask them to give you Eng. visa

wasim110 wrote:

Dear frds,
I have got an offer to work in SABIC thru contracting company. I am a mechanical engineer with 8 years of exp. I have been given family status. but company is saying they will provide technician visa rather than engineer visa. why is it so? what are the dis advantage of it?

Well some times Getting Engineer visa for company takes time,that's why they offer you Technician visa,You can change your profession here once you get iqama,for changing profession your Degree should be attested by Saudi Culture+Saudi Embassy in Pakistan.The Disadvantage of Technician visa is only you can not Get Family Visa.

Thanks tariqkhattak70 & javedakb.

They will provide family visa and confirmed in offer letter. they were telling the same thing that, since it takes time in getting engineer visa so i will go there on technician visa and letter they will change.
My concern: Is it also possible that company may not change profession?

if they will change it then,how much time it takes to change the profession after reaching KSA? and in getting family visa after changing the profession?