Visa retire

I'm a 55 year  male looking to live in chang mai what sort of visa will I need and how long can I stay there with out a visa,how much money could you live on for say six years ?

Good evening
I have been visiting Chiang Mai yearly now for many years, and hope to retire there when I am about 55yrs old (50 now). I am constantly researching the subject of retiring in Thailand including the costs etc. Personally if I was to retire in Chiang Mai tomorrow, I would make sure I had £1,500 per month. This would pay for accommodation in a rented condo, private health insurance, meals (probably all eaten at Thai roadside eateries) beer (maybe 2-3 beers per night) a massage every day and transport (tuk tuks etc, not motorbike). I would also spend on visiting many parts of Thailand over the first few years (stay in CM for say 3 months, then visit a different area or country for 1 month, then back to CM for say 3 months.
If I save some money thats fine, if not then I know that my standard of living can amount to the above on about £1500 per month...
Everyone has their own idea of spend, but this is my personal plan.
I hope it may help
Howard

Without a Visa you get 15 or 30 days at the airport, you can extend that by 30 days at the Immigration.
Some country get more then that.

If you can meet the requirement for a NoN O "Retirement" Single, that give you 90 days, then inside the last 30 days, you can apply for a Extension "Retirement" for 1 year.

Tourist Visa 2 or 3 entry, give 60 days per entry, that can be extend by 30 days, so 90 days X 2 or 3 entry.
You have to do a boarder run between entry.

How much money, that is hard to say.
Can you eat the local food, or Can you only eat western style food.
Do you drink every day, do you like to party all night, do you want to buy "company".

Please remember Insurance, Many forget this part, This part can cost a lot of money.