Working and wages as bus driver in Malta

well reading between the lines, to sum up wages are rubbish and you have to work long long hours for it? and so on 1 income it will be a struggle to survive? I am a bus driver in the uk, my wife cant work because of her illness, but we were thinking of coming over realising that i would still have to work hard, but that hopefully in-between we could have a better quality of life, I.E on days off enjoy the climate and go for walks by the coast? we have been to malta many many times but now beginning to think it may be a mistake?

spandy61 wrote:

well reading between the lines, to sum up wages are rubbish and you have to work long long hours for it? and so on 1 income it will be a struggle to survive? I am a bus driver in the uk, my wife cant work because of her illness, but we were thinking of coming over realising that i would still have to work hard, but that hopefully in-between we could have a better quality of life, I.E on days off enjoy the climate and go for walks by the coast? we have been to malta many many times but now beginning to think it may be a mistake?

we survive on one wage my husband gets about 1400 euros a month and works 9-5 monday to friday  .... we are off course an exception to the rule it seems lol

if your a bus driver you may wish to apply to public transport malta i know they are looking for a whole lot of new bus drivers.

Thanks, yes MPT are one of those i contacted, but like they say they cannot offer me a job until i am actually in malta. 1,400 would be fine im sure we could manage on that but from what little i have been able to find out it seems Bus drivers are not on that sort of wage? i noticed you said you live comfortably on 800/900 a month is that figure including some spending money? or is that figure what you actually pay out on rent and bills? if so then you need to be earning at least a 1000 a month?

spandy61 wrote: