Moving to Nijmegen, Netherlands

Hi All

I am planning to move to my partner in Nijmegen within the next few months (once my MVV and TEV visas come through). We have just applied and once that is approved, I will be packing up and moving permanently to the Netherlands. I have a few things on my mind and I was wondering if anyone could give advice:

- I am thinking of getting a small container to send my things via shipping. Does anyone know where I could advertise for someone who is also moving to the Netherlands and we could possibly share a container? I have no furniture, only small items such as my collection of containers of beads, clothing and a few pairs of shoes.

- I need an affordable way to send my things, Does anyone have a good suggestion? or recommend a company?

- I have over 20 years of work experience and will get a temporary residence permit. I have 3 years to do another Dutch exam and then will get permanent residence. Where do I start looking for a job?

- How long does the MVV & TEV visas really take?

Thank you so much and I look forward to hearing from you.

Hello Shutzie and welcome to Expat.com :)

I suggest you drop an advert in our :

1. Container sharing in the Netherlands to increase your chances to find somebody to share container with
2. Job offers in Netherlands to increase chances to find a job
3. Contact our partner to have free quotes for moving here : Moving to Netherlands

Concerning your visa query, while waiting for members to revert back please browse through our Information on visas in the Netherlands section of the forum to gather some infos.

Kenjee
Expat.com Team

Hi Shutzie!

I would like to welcome you ahead to The Netherlands, moving to another place not from yours is definitely challenging, but I'm pretty sure you will like it here.
I'm Jennifer from The Philippines, and like you,  I moved here for same reasons.