2015 - anybody in the Ecuador visa pipelines?

I can count on the fingers of both hands the number of Ecuador visa applicants who post here and have gone through the permanent residency visa process in the last two years. So for all the hoopla Ecuador gets as a great place to emigrate to, either:

It has become a less great place
Or
fewer people are applying
Or
Fewer applicants are posting here

I don't know which.

Anybody in the process right now? Starting on the document journey? Have any current tips as to how the visa system is functioning in 2015? Changes, speed bumps, new bureaucracy demands, referrals or insights for the current visa process? Anyone?

All experience and input greatly appreciated. Current information seems to be lacking, it's been mighty quiet of new migrants around here.

Thanks for reading, and I await all the enthusiastic responses to pour in with success stories.

:cheers:

I'm just beginning the process and have been gathering information. So far I have printed the application but have not submitted anything. My plan is to move to Cuenca in November. I'll keep you posted as I progress through the system.

Yea! Thanks Dorothy. Believe me, I'll be watching and waiting. Thanks!

Also please keep us updated on whether or not you used an Ecuador attorney, how many apostilled police reports were required, how long it took to acquire those police reports w/apostilles, which Ecuador city visa ministry you worked with; the whole kit and kaboodle. Details, details, details.

In the two years since we went on our fact finding mission to Ecuador, I can't even think how many rules have changed - document requirements, time frames, apostilles for this and not that, the closing of some Ecuador consulates and embassies. The whole landscape has shifted quite a bit in just two years time.

You're a peach.

gardener1 wrote: