Considering moving to Berlin or Hamburg. Pros and cons approved.

I am a freshman here so here I say my hello.

I live in Poland and being close to my mid-twenties (which means cutting many ties, as you could guess) I started to seriously consider working abroad. Recently I came across a few job openings in Germany - most of them in Berlin and Hamburg - and that's why I'm here.

Because you're such a kind and vibrant community I'd like to ask for a quick summary of pros and cons of moving to the said cities. I'd like to know more about cost of living, options to spend my spare time (I am fond of popculture and group activities) and I'm also keen to know whether it's possible to have a good start there without knowing nearly any bit of German language.

Plus I'd be equally grateful for trivia-like advice like "do not go near the lighthouse before the rooster sings", meaning any tips out of category but of great use are also welcome.

So again - hello, please help me make a decision. Thanks in advance.

PS. Of course I meant that pros and cons are appreciated, pardon.

Your chances of finding a good job, and even more so of having a reasonable social life, are quite low without language skills. So maybe you want to study some German first?
Many of your compatriots work as agricultural helper, construction or factory worker, or other low-skilled (and low-paid) and often temporary jobs. Some of these don't require language skills. Is that what you're after?

Hello concarne

I invite you to browse through the different forums Hamburg as well as Berlin to gather as much info as you wish.

We have different forum categories, such as Everday life , Cost of living where you could compare each city.

Regards
Kenjee
Expat.com Team

Hi concarne,

As beppi already said, without German language skills your social life will be very restricted. That will be an issue.