Employment in Southwest Wales

Hello, Bore da!
We want to move and semi retire to Newcastle, Emyln just East of Cardigan. My biggest concern in moving to Wales is in finding jobs to supplement our retirement income.  What is the employment situation there? My husband is an Assoc. Professor teaching Art, Graphic Design, Marketing and Advertising, with a past career in these fields. Is the teaching certification very lengthy?
I am a graphic artist working in ALL facets of a newspaper (except writing/reporting). We both love what we do, but will work anywhere.
Would our age be a serious problem? We are both healthy and energetic.
Diolch!
Angela

Hi there Angela,

What a lovely country to retire too, Although I no longer live there, I hope I can give you some news.
Like everywhere the recession hit most places hard, but slowly places are recovering. I see that you are coming over from the USA, will you be needing some kind of Visa to work?
I had a quick look on the net and there does seem to be quick a few jobs up for grabs. You husband could always do home tutoring as I doubt there would be that much work in his field unless he got a part time job in a college or school. He would need to buy the Educational Time (TES) that is where all the education jobs are advertised. They are not in the local newspaper.
For you, you could contact local newspapers and ask. If any of you are willing to do other work. I found this site for you to look at. 
http://www.indeed.co.uk/jobs-in-Cardigan

I hope what I have given you is of some use. If I can help in any way, please drop me a line. Happy Hunting.

Simon

Hi Angela,

Welcome to Wales when do you hope to arrive!