New Member - Seeking A Little Guidence

Greetings all
I am looking to move, within a year, from the USA to Uruguay to enjoy my golden years.  Have done some of the ground work and I am currently selling anything of value that I would look at leaving here, house to go up for sale soon.  If possible, I am looking for a little enlightenment on the following.

I am an IT professional, PM, BA and coder.   Since that is something I enjoy, would like to continue on a part-time or remote basis.  How is the IT world around Uruguay?  Keeping up with the rest of the world?  Any demand for IT pros?

Also I am a competitive shooter.  Can anyone advise what it would entail to bring an assortment of firearms when I move?  Any restrictions on type, number, ammunition, etc.?  I have been a competitor multiple times in Pan Am FISTAC events.  Additionally I hold certifications as an instructor in multiple shooting disciplines.

In that I dabble semiprofessionally woodworking, any thoughts on bringing my tools to be considered?  All the big stuff is wired for 220v already.

Thanks

Dojidog wrote:

Can anyone advise what it would entail to bring an assortment of firearms when I move?  Any restrictions on type, number, ammunition, etc.?  I have been a competitor multiple times in Pan Am FISTAC events.

Of course there are weapons-import restrictions.  No country would allow an Expat to bring in unlimited weapons.

Regardless of your experience with Pan Am shooting events, you can expect to be required to follow the laws of Uruguay.

Bad idea:  expecting to get reliable information on a sensitive issue such as gun import from non-attorney Expat.comgers.

Better idea:  Since you're serious about this, get an experienced UR attorney advising you, and a copy of the relevant gun-importation laws in a language you understand.

You can probably handle your sophisticated woodworking tools the same way, with the same attorney.