Living in Ecuador

My wife & I are both 67.  We are looking for a place to retire either part of the year or for the full year eventually.  Currently we live in Long Island, N.Y.

We are looking for a place where the temperature is not too hot, where we could swim daily and where there are a decent number of expats from the U.S., Canada, and other countries.  I am a massage therapist and would like to work in this field as I do in the states.  My wife is an English teacher. 

We are looking to purchase a one story home where we could rent it out when we are not in Ecuador.  Is this feasible?

We have never been to Ecuador, but have heard of four or five cities where the weather is called "Eternal Spring." 

How expensive would be shopping for food on a weekly basis for a couple that is vegetarian?

What would be the cost for heating the home, electricity, and phone? 

How would be the easiest way to be able to receive phone calls from the states when in Ecuador?

Does one need to have a car or can you get around without one in the most popular expat cities there?  How much does it cost to rent a car there?

What airlines fly into Ecuador?

Thank you,

Bruce

bruceberger wrote:

We are looking to purchase a one story home....
What would be the cost for heating the home, electricity, and phone?

Does one need to have a car or can you get around without one in the most popular expat cities there....

What airlines fly into Ecuador?

OK, Bruce, let's take a crack at several of these questions, for starters.
Your question about the one-story home scenario is more complex than it might appear and deserves a separate answer.

Electricity is cheap in Ecuador and heating is not commonly needed in homes here.  Your days of paying big bucks for electricity during the Long Island winters will be over.

My cost of electricity with occasional use of a space heater included is just under ten dollars a month on average.  That's for a one-bedroom condo in Quito for a single person.