Moving to Bali advice?

I'm an Australian that currently resides in the Philippines. I've been doing business here since 2007. For the last 2 years I've been debating moving my family  to thailand or bali as I really don't enjoy living in the Philippines.
I love both countries equally and for different reasons. But I beleive that bali would be a better country for my kids to be raised. My fiancé is a filipina. My first question is there small filipino community in Bali?  Also my son is 7 years old and I need to find him a school in the sanur area.....is there any special visa needed for my son or my family for him to study there?
I plan to do some sort of business while in Bali.  Unsure exactly what long term but I will most likely do something with villas. Any ideas of what would be a good business in sanur?  Maybe something That is missing as it seems sanur is growing rapidly. Thanks in advance for any replies

Hi Ben,

Welcome to the forum, and hopefully, welcome to Bali!

If your planned residency in Bali is something you are considering for the long haul, then you, your wife and son should eventually be on a KITAS residency visa.  You will need a good, reliable and licensed visa agent for that, such as PT Bali Ide, but there are others.  This agent will also act as your sponsor. 

In the Sanur area there are a number of private and international schools, including one of the two best on the island, that being BIS (Bali International School).  Normally the foreign students at these schools are under a KITAS visa, but I know that they will accept a foreign student who is currently on Bali with a visit or tourist visa if they know that KITAS visa application for that student are in the works (easily verifiable to the school by your visa agent).