Buying a farm in Fiji.

Hi there,
My plan is to buy a farm in Fiji to plant cash crop like tobacco and permanent trees like
coconuts and fruit trees like Longan, rambutan and lanzones. Also papaya and pineapple, etc.
for cash. I need a good cash outflow to form a Dramatics Club there in Fiji.

This week I will write the Fiji Embassy for the requirements and thru my research it is best
to get a Permanent Resident in Fiji before buying or Native Lease farm.
I am an avid farmer back in Davao City and I know about coconuts and fruit trees.
I am inclined to be in Sagitoka because the Real Estate Hardys has a few offer
which attracts me like: like  about 9 to 13 hectares, one is near the beach etc. and
affordable too.

My question for this occasion:1) About how much is Native Lease which is about, say 40 acres, or about 16 hectares.

Question 2) Can I "Stay on the farm workers? like a whole family?
Q3) How much is the pay of farm workers? (I know some clerks receive about 2 to 3 dollars per hour.)

That's it for now. Thanks everyone.
Yours truly,
Hans -

Good idea bro. I will asist you anyway.my POC email [email protected]

I have a fruit farm in Fiji, near Rakiraki town.

I highly recommend that newcomers to Fiji rent for a while before buying property.  You'll learn so much from local people, and get the best deals.

Land prices vary greatly depending on soil quality, terrain, and access to towns/cities.  Viti Levu islands tends to be a more expensive than other islands, but not outrageously expensive.  My guess is that 40 acre native or crown lease in the Sigatoka valley would sell for $50,000 FJ ($25,000 US), but that's just a guess.

Farm labourers earn approximately $3/hr ($1.50/hr US), but skilled labour might cost $4-5/hr.