Driving license

Hi all,

How realistic is for me to obtain a drivers license.  I have a university degree and a position of a supervisor in my work permit. All together,  how long is the procedure and where do I go with my current license from my home country to do that?

Thanks,

Maja

You will need to first make application to obtain a drivers license and after that attach a copy of your current license, university degree and the work permit.
Then submit the traffic department in Jabriya, if you stay in salmiya. Depending on which place your are staying.

The current requirements are that you have a legal residency of at least two years, a salary which exceeds KD 400 and a university degree.

Now, certain professions are exempted from the above rules: professional athletes, sports staff, drivers or representatives, who ply their trade in any sports club, sports union or government sports body, technicians in oil-related bodies in the country and health, nursing and ambulance staff. With some luck you may fit into one of these.

Professions that will receive exemptions to two of the three conditions — the legal residency and salary limits — include judges, public prosecution members, chief justices, legal experts, doctors, pharmacists, engineers and assistant engineers, accountants, teaching faculty members, teachers, social workers, scientists, translators, librarians, company directors, journalists, TV presenters, public mosque imams and pilots and marine captains and their assistants.

Give it a try and see what happens.

P.S. Your national license is useless.

Use your international licenses

Mohammed al Adwani wrote:

Use your international licenses