Yachtsmen / women, Sailors

Hi, I've been cruising around the Med for the last 8 years in a sailing yacht. Yacht now sold; and plan to come to Thailand end of January looking for another yacht to spend a few years cruising around Asia. I will need some form of accomodation in / around Phuket if anyone has any idea's? whilst looking, probably 'long term' , 'self catering' style.

Cheers Tony

Tony Wilkes wrote:

Hi, I've been cruising around the Med for the last 8 years in a sailing yacht. Yacht now sold; and plan to come to Thailand end of January looking for another yacht to spend a few years cruising around Asia. I will need some form of accomodation in / around Phuket if anyone has any idea's? whilst looking, probably 'long term' , 'self catering' style.

Cheers Tony

Welcome to the forum.

I suggest that you Google  'yacht or sailing clubs Phuket' as there are such clubs there. Do the same for accommodation.

Thank you 'Stumpy' will do.
Regards Tony

sounds like you've had some time out there. you should have no problem in Phuket. but the main boat area is not near the spotlight area. not a lot of Xpats seam to talk much hear. I live in BKK area. May the wind be to your back and the sun in front of you. I was looking at a 45ft before. saw some thing in the area. been a few yrs . Bodacious

Thanks Bodacious,

Yes, spent the last 8 years cruising the Med, sold my yacht in Greece, want to spend time cruising Asia. They tell me most of the yachts are on the east coast, so looking to get a base/transport in Phuket Town and move around from there looking!

Thanks for the reply
Tony

How large a sailboat are you looking for?  I have a MacGregor 65 available.  It is a racer cruiser that will sail 30 km., turn in one boat length, displaces 16 tons, has 26 layers of Fiberglas in the hull, 6' watertight compartment forward, 52 HP Yanmar Diesel engine, Electric Maxwell winch.

Contact me for more information.  I am in NaJomtien.