Bonjour!

Hi everyone!
I am new to this site, so I thought I would introduce myself....
I am from Central Otago, NZ, my profession is vineyard/wine industry.
After briefly visiting/working in France earlier this year, I am dead set on moving to Bordeaux early next year, for work for at least 6 months (permanently would be a dream come true!).

I have loads of questions!:
Any advice on visas or job leads would be much appreciated!! (I am over 30, so WHV is out of the question).
Has anyone tried to get a work visa or seasonal work visa?
Has anyone studied and worked on a student visa?
Bought a car? Or any cheap alternatives (apart from a bike!)?
Opened a bank account?

Cheers!!

Hi Giorgie!

Welcome soon to Bordeaux. Bordeaux is known as one of the favourite towns for French people in France, beaches, seas, moutains, vineyards, and many of other places to visit here.

What are you looking for as a job in wine industry?

Here is a good website for your job seeking in the field of wine industry: http://www.vitijob.com/

In order to get a resident card with the option of work autorization, you should ask your employer in France to deal with the process. And it is the "Prefecture" he should deal with.

To buy a car, you can have a look on this website: http://www.leboncoin.fr/annonces/offres/aquitaine/.

Othewise, you can send me a private message since I can advise some of many friends who are car salers in Bordeaux.

To open your bank account, it is easy. You need to prepare some required documents and go to the bank. It takes 1-2 days to get your bank account done. You have a lot of choice: LCL, BNP Paris Bas, Crédit Mutuelle, HSBC, Caisse d'Epargne, etc. I don't remember what you need as document, but what is sure is your home statement in France which justify your stay here.

Good luck!

Hey there!
I am also originally from Central (Alexandra) but now living in Dunedin.
Am moving over to Bordeaux on the 21st December and really looking forward to it!