Opening a cool vegetarian restaruant in Arequipa

Know anyone who would like to work with us?

It will be a fun place with delicious food. We are going to have live music as well.

I have 15 years of experience travelling and dining in Latin America, 30 years of being vegetarian. I've developed a great sense of what works, from the perspective of a client! While vegetarians don't starve to death in these parts as many places have a default vegi option on the menu, they also don't often find something exciting. Let's change that!

I hate to be the one to rain on your parade, but all of South America is known for meat. It isn't just by chance that restaurants in South American countries like Peru only have a "default" vegetarian item or two on the menu and that they're not very interesting. It's because that vegetarianism is not extremely popular among the local residents of all of these countries, not even here in Brazil which is the largest country and driving ecomomy of the entire continent.

I really think that by limiting yourself to opening a purely vegetarian restaurant you're going to also be limiting yourself to an almost exclusively expat clientele and thus seriously restricting the profits and continued viability of your business in a truly carnivorous continent.

I don't know exactly how much of that 15 years of travelling and dining in Latin America you've actually spent here all at one go, but until you've lived anywhere for at least 6 months you can't possibly have a clear picture of what the country is really like in any aspect. I've lived in Brazil for 13 years now and I can tell you this from experience. Living in a country and visiting it on a short vacation is like comparing apples and oranges, you just can't do it.