I stopped learning Arabic

It will be my third month on 26 here in the Kingdom and since I came here I started learning Arabic. I have a book by Living Languages and now I can read and write arabic letter. I started building my vocabulary and now onto grammar. But when I tried to use it at work my colleagues say they can't understand me because of my accent, I always end up typing what I said in my phone for them to understand and some arabs can be hard in commenting as well. It's like I want to learn this language but it is not letting me in. Pronunciation is really difficult.

if you give up, you'll never reach your goal.. if you keep going, you will inshaa Allaah

Hello Kristian,

You have only been here for three months and still you had the motivation to start learning Arabic and go as far as forming words and pronunciation, this in itself is a big achievement. :one

At least you know 'what you do not know' which is important. For Arabic pronunciation, I suggest you take two steps :

a) Read basic Quran verses, most Arabs will be able to guide you, don't fell sensitive if you are not a muslim.

b) site everythingisvisual.com/arabictraining/b1l01.html .

Let me know the progress.

I feel you but please, don't stop.

Arabic is a difficult language to learn and its not easy although it makes sense. Pronunciation is difficult and when people say they don't  understand what you are saying, you want to quite and feel embarrassed.
Trust me, I know how it feels. It seems they don't want to make the effort to understand you while you are working so hard and try your very best to learn. Tell them that you speak a little and you learn the language.If you are able to read Arabic, read out loud. This will help you a lot.

There are several good channels on youtube to help you, one of my favorite is learningarabicwithmaha.
Maybe it works for you as well.

Good luck!

riazcdki wrote:

Hello Kristian,