How much I can save? What is the tax and the cost of living in Oslo?

Hi There,

Greetings everyone, I'm a software professional who is working with a MNC, i have got an opportunity to work at Oslo for 6 months and provided with 450000 NoK.

I will be coming as single and will be based out of Oslo. Please could you guys suggest what will be the tax for an individual (foreigner) approximately, what will be the approximate cost of living (stay and food for a single bachelor) and how much I can save?

Regards
FlyWorld

Hello FlyWorld and welcome to Expat.com

While waiting for members to give you some tips, I invite you to participate on threads in our section Cost of Living in Oslo.

Regards
Kenjee
Expat.com Team

Hello,
Firstly I take it that it is a Noreigian Company you will be working for?  Are you new to being a Software Professional?  It is very expensive to live and work in Norway.  Make sure you have something lined up with regards to having a place to stay before you get there.  Look for a cheap     B & B for  Accomodation if you want to live in central Oslo is can cost 8,000 NOK and above per month.  Transportation is good IF you find a place that has a bus nearby and only do that if you don't have a car.  Everything is electric and do make sure that there is either an oil radiator or some form of heating in the apartment.  You will need at least 2 months security but ask for one month.  Food and drink is very costly also.  I hope you are only going for the 6 months for you deserve twice that amount.  Also the tax on your salary would be between 32-45% in Tax.  If I were you find out if the company will contribute to your accomodation or supply it.  I lived in Norway over 5 years.  I hope I have helped.  If you need anything further, don't hesitate to ask.  All in all it is a lovely city and you will enjoy it.  Kind Regards