Can foreigners register a business in Vietnam

Hi everyone

I am foreigner and had married a Vietnamese woman.  I had built a business under her name as the Vietnam Law at that time do not allow foreigners to register a business.  My wife is now filing for a divorce through the court here and wants take the business, properties and children.  I am now exploring the possibility of starting a business again but this time under my own name rather than under anyone else's name.  I know that the Vietnam Law has changed but not sure if foreigner can now register a business.  The information from the government websites are not clear and address mainly to Viet Kieus.  They do not address specifically about foreigners registering a business.

Any recommendation of a lawyer on this aspect would also be very helpful.

What a  Sad ( SITUATION )

Not the first time i hear this type of DRAMA!!!

TERRIBLE!!!

GOOD LUCK

I'm not a lawyer but I had advice on this.  If you have  US$300,000 to spare you can register a foreign owned company, otherwise you're stuck with 49% for you and 51% for a Vietnamese partner/s.

There are companies that will provide the partners for you and charge you a fee (around $1200 a year for the partner and another $1200 a year for the accountant they provide). There was an upfront fee of around $2,500 if I remember correctly.

Hope this helps and good luck.

Thanks for the info.  Looks like I have to partner with someone.  But any experience as to whether these partners are reliable or they will end up giving you problems as well.  I do not want to jump from the frying pan into the fire.

Yes, you can.
There are 2 ways:
- Register a business under your own name as 100% investment from not-Vietnam citizen. The registration duration is about 45 - 60 days (or less for me) and you have to wait until you have business license to start business. You have only one license containing all information.