Advice on finding a job in Canada

Hi there,

I am Frans Gouws, married for almost 15 years and have 3 little boys.  We really want to relocate to Canada from South Africa, but I have some questions.

1.   I have been working as an accountant for almost 20 years, but I have not finished my degree.....will I be able to find a job in Canada?

2.  Are the salaries sufficient to have a normal life?  Currently with the cost of living in SA, a normal salary is not enough to sustain our family.  My wife home schools our boys, as the struggle in mainstream schools.

3.  Should I find a job in Canada before leaving SA, or should I first go to Canada, get a job and then move my family?

Thank you very much!

Hi Frans,

Welcome to the forum. There's a famous show in Canadian TV called Dragon's Den and one of the judges (dragon) on the show, Arlene Dickinson immigrated from South Africa when she was little with her parents. Although this is one of the non-so-typical rag to riches story - just wanted to say that the road ahead for moving can be daunting especially for a family with kids.

To answer your questions,
  I have been working as an accountant for almost 20 years, but I have not finished my degree.....will I be able to find a job in Canada?
It is not impossible. It is easier if you did not somebody here or have connections to some companies. If you come without any connections, then your first hurdle getting the hiring guys to even pick up your resume. Hopefully the years of working experience counts. I would say it all depends on who's doing the head hunting.

Are the salaries sufficient to have a normal life?  Currently with the cost of living in SA, a normal salary is not enough to sustain our family.  My wife home schools our boys, as the struggle in mainstream schools.