Accommodation in KL for 7 to 8 months for PhD student

Hi, I'm a PhD student from the Netherlands and I'll be staying in KL for 7-8 months to do my fieldwork. Just arrived and currently staying in a guesthouse/hotel while looking for a longer-term place to stay. I guess I'm looking for a condo for 1 person in an area, which has at least some liveliness in the evening in the sense that I can go outside to eat and/or have a drink in a street stall or restaurant (i.e., not in a business district, which I'm assuming will be rather deserted in the evening) and also which allows short-term rentals (7 or 8 months, which I understand is not so common here). It does not need to be in an all-expat neighborhood (I'm a social scientist, so in fact I'd be interested to experience more of the 'local'). Yet near to MRT/LRT or other public transport line would be convenient, as I do expect to go around the city for my research. Budget is 2500 MYR max.

Any recommendations would be greatly appreciated!

Great place for you would be Ceylon One  in Bukit bintang. Brand new and RM 2300 is the going rate.

https://www.expat.com/en/classified/asi … -rent.html

Close to everywhere you want to be. Close also to transportation i.e. Monorail to connect to LRT, etc.

Definitely try One Bukit Ceylon

If the above is not to your liking, then just look it up on www.iproperty.com.my to see what is on offer.  Close to nightlife and public transportation as well as retail therapy and great street food options.