Living in Panama - Can we live with Au$3000/month ?

I'm an australian artist thinking of retiring in Panama. My partner and I would live on our social security pensions and I have some savings to buy or build a house. I don't deal well with the humidity so I think we will head for the mountains. How realistic is it for us to live on say Au $3000/month? And I'd love to hear from other ex-patriots who've made the move......what's it like living there?

Hello silvabond

Welcome to Expat.com

So as to have an idea of the cost of living in Panama, I invite you to check out the threads in our Cost of Living in Panama forum.

Regards
Kenjee
Expat.com Team

Where in Panama? Panama City is more expensive, and you will also pay more in areas with lots of expats. I would say though that this is plenty of money for most people in most areas. blog.thepanamaadventure.com/3-the-cost-of-living-in-panama/.  We have written about our living expenses in David, and will probably do another report next month.

silvabond wrote:

I'm an australian artist thinking of retiring in Panama. My partner and I would live on our social security pensions and I have some savings to buy or build a house. I don't deal well with the humidity so I think we will head for the mountains. How realistic is it for us to live on say Au $3000/month? And I'd love to hear from other ex-patriots who've made the move......what's it like living there?