Non english teaching jobs

Hi all we recently moved to hanoi its an amazing place. We are from cape town south africa,.my partner is a qualified teacher with experience in the field. I on the other hand have very little experience (1year)in teaching but I do posses TEFL teaching certificates. I was wondering if any expats found work other than teaching in hanoi.in south africa for the past 7 years I worked in the construction field for my own company as a project and site manager.I would think it would be very difficult to find a job in construction as I do not know any vietnamese and communication would be a problem. If any one can help or have any advice for me or know of expats finding jobs other than teaching it would be really appreciated.

Thanks alot for reading my post
One love

I have built several small projects for my family - hotels, houses, office - and it is very simple to interact with subcontractors. I started with infill projects, but now, in HCM, even these cost a fortune.

Language differences are not significant - especially in physical trades.

Plumbers and electricians trades present the biggest challenges - most locals are incompetent at this (4" main sewer???). There are very good bricklayers, plasters and tilers in most parts of the country. They have marble mines in VN.

They also like mixing concrete rather than getting ready mix - which is usually delivered at night because of traffic hassles - and they go very skinny on concrete beams and posts.

Your contracts will have to detail stage payments, both with the outfit you are doing the work for as well as trades. Few trades get credit and even fewer 30-day revolving accounts.

You would have to get a Work Permit and set-up a company. 51% VNese and the rest you. KEEP MONEY CONTROL VERY TIGHT and IN YOUR HANDS. You will need a VAT licence.