Considering to move to malaysia

Hello friends,

I am an Indian working in a reputed IT company in Bangalore.I have 4 years of Java Development experience.I am working in a to-notch IT company where my take home is above 70k per month out of which I manage to save 40k per month.
Recently I got a job offer through a consultancy for May bank Malaysia as Java consultant,on 18 months contract and they say if I perform good it will be surely extended.They are offering me 7000 RM per month.
Please guide if it will be safe to leave my secure job and come to Malaysia.

I can't say too much about working in Malaysia because I've no experience, but I do know Maybank is massive and Malaysia is a wonderful country.
I only spent about six months there (Over three very long holidays), but I picked up a lot about the place.
You feel safe and the people were fantastic.

Hi Prity,

Welcome to Expat.com! :)

I have moved your topic on the Malaysia forum for a better visibility and interaction. ;)

It sounds a low salary compared to your current situation and savings. The COL is rather high in Malaysia these days and at least 30-40% higher than India. The other issue is that with an 18 month contract, you risk paying 25% tax most of the time you are here as you will need to qualify as a tax resident in 2015 by completing a continuous presence of 182 days (minus business-related absences and private travel of less than 14 days). You will first be able to claim your tax back in about April 2016 - by which time depending when you actually arrive, you may already have left.

It is a huge adventure to move to another country to work - and a huge nightmare to start with.