Spouse Visa

Hi all,

I have just returned from immigration with my Malay wife. We got married here (KL) in June. The officer at the immigration dept has told us that we have to wait 6 months after the date of our wedding before we can apply for a Spouse Visa.

Is this true as a member of my wife's family has gone down a similar route but did not have to wait 6 months.

In regards to employment, I am a freelancer, how would I go about getting a work visa as everything seems to be tailored for permanent positions.

Kind regards

There is no logical reason you should wait six months, could it be a misunderstanding? The usual route is that you apply for a Long Term Social Visit Pass (LTSVP) at any time, but have to remain in Malaysia for 6 months, and it seems immigration will not issue an endorsement to work during that period of time (but before it only applied to citizens of African countries and China). After that, an application can be made for a 1 year LTSVP. At that stage, if you have a job offer paying the required RM5k per month, then you can get an endorsement to work on your LTSVP.

The other way to be able to work immediately is for you to just apply for a job for which you are qualified. The same minimum salary requirement applies. Then the company applies for a work permit for you. i.e. forget about the LTSVP and have your own independent immigration status.

Yet another route if you want to be a freelancer is to register a company in Malaysia and get a tax number. Suggest you do this with your wife and her family members as co-Directors, as the minimum paid up capital is RM350,000.

More information about this is here:

http://malaysiabizadvisory.com/malaysia … oreigners/

Check your situation out a bit more to make sure it is not just a misunderstanding or crossed wires.

You are however the second person in a week who has reported some difficulties with getting the LTSVP or the current terms that are being applied.

Cheers dude,