Being colored

Hi All,

It seems racism exists every where you go no matter how hard you want to deny it. I am dark tanned and my facial features is something hard for others to tell. I could be Asian, Pan-Asian, Nothern Indian, Spanish, Latina, Islander, etc.Whenever I visit a different country, a lot of them tend to be surprised on how well I can speak English with of course an accent in which it is very hard to tell.

During my teenage yearss, I studied in a government funded Malaysian school. And then I attended a Canadian school for my Grade 13 for almost 2 years before I decided to move to Australia to pursue my degree. I ended up living and working in Australia for almost 10 years.

I have been back to Maalaysia and it haas been almost 7 years now. I am working with an American company right now so I deal with the American clients for the past 6 years and I am aaalso a frequent travekler to the US.

Having said that, my accent is more like a mixture of Aussie, American, and Malaysian. Yeah, a potpouri if you would like to call it.

I am proud of what I am and who I am. I couldn't care less if people want to judge me by my accent and the color of my skin as long as I know how to adapt with the social expectations.

My apology if my contribution in this forum might hurt some feelings but it is never my intention to do so. I am just merely sharing my experience. White, Black, Brown, Yellow, we're all one race. The HUMAN RACE! :)

Love,
Nat

A naughty man's point of view.

If that's you in your avatar, you're pretty.
Personality makes a difference, skin colour does not.

100% agree with fred.

It is also my experience that racism does exist to a certain degree in most places.
Thankfully, it is usually just an annoying minority who practise it, but some countries (your native Malaysia among them) do even have a government-sponsored variety.