How female / tourist friendly is Oman really ??

Lately a few stray incidents have bothered me and I'm starting to think how friendly is the tourism in Oman. So the troubles started when I invited my girlfriend of European descent to Oman. We were treated with beady eyes and some snide remarks by some young chaps at the border on a road trip  to Dubai and lately she has been subject to quite a lot of cat calls in Ghoubra in Broad Daylight..... I've been a resident of Oman for nearly 2 decades and somehow I start to think that Oman is not fully ready to accept tourism with open hands..... Strangely some of the senior officials have been cheerful on the two of us and even shared a few jokes..... What are your thoughts on Oman's policies towards the tourists. We have traveled across SE Asia and even there we were never so uneasy but this is entirely different.

Hello Rammy , I have just moved to Muscat with my Egyptian husband we make an odd looking couple I am as blonde and fair as many northern Europeans are  and he is typically Egyptian with lovely darkish skin . I have had no problems at all when we are out and about but as soon as i wander away from him i get silly offers from men to do naughty things ! I think as a couple people are curious as to where we are from , how we meet etc but as a European woman alone its annoying rather then threatening to be approached by men and of course insulting to me . The Omani men have never done this i find them very respectful even a little shy and of course what clothing as a woman that you wear affects how others see and treat you ( i just wear modest skin covering loose but colourful clothes from Europe) . I feel very safe here as a woman alone during the daytime doing my chores etc but then i am used to living in Egypt and India so cat calls and stares are like water off a ducks back

Hey Deborah,