Looking for some advice

My name is Lynne-Marie and I am a Canadian teacher very possibly moving to Abuja next month to teach at The Centagon International School.  I am just waiting to have a phone call to see if it will be happening.  I have travelled quite a lot in my twenties and then went back to school to become a teacher to give me the opportunity to work and travel.  This is a dream position for me teaching my specialty subjects with the added bonus of working in orphanages close by the the school is already involved in.

I am looking for some advice on the state of things there now and to see if I am making a bad decision.  I am not coming in with my eyes closed, and believe me I have had my reservations ( and in taking so long to decide to take the position, I may have very well lost it.)  If anyone can tell me anything at all, I would greatly appreciate it.

My family isn't too happy about my decision, but are supporting me.  I should state that I am a female travelling alone- but I have done that many times and have very good judgement and gut instincts that so far have always kept me safe.  :-)

Hello Lynne-Marie,

I am Nathaniel from Lagos Nigeria. I am a Nigerian. I will advice you to follow you mind. Though Abuja has been having some pockets of terrorism but Abuja still  peaceful and it is the seat of the Federal Government (Federal Government Territory). Nigerians are loving and caring people. What North-Eastern part of Nigeria is passing through is temporary. If the job will take you to Bornu, Yobe, Kano, Kaduna or Adamawa state I will strongly advice not to accept the offer yet. But if your intending employer can post to Lagos it will be better. Because Lagos is very peaceful and lively.