Living in Bahrain- Is $1200 salary enough to live and save?

HI! I'm new in this blog..

I have an offer in Bahrain for a teaching job. Monthly salary is $ 1,200. Is that salary sufficient for me? Can I save some for myself with that amount? Thanks in advance for those who'll reply to this message.

Morning,

I would suggest that you have a look at the links in the Cost of Living thread (https://www.expat.com/forum/viewtopic.php?id=337348) since this is a question that appears on the forum time and time again.

We cannot necessarily tell you if you will be able to save on what you have been offered since so much depends on things such as whether accommodation and transport are included and your standard of living.

Please have a look at the link and then come back with any further queries you may have.

All the best

S

Your message from the other topic:

JayCredo23 wrote:

Sir I have an offer in Bahrain.. $452.41 for a teaching job. Is it just? Can I survive and save in Bahrain with that amount of money? Your reply would be of great help for first - timer like me. Thank u and God bless.

Hi JayCredo23,

A salary of US$1,200 (equal to BD452.4) is a reasonable salary and you will be able to live comfortably on that.

As MummyT has mentioned, we get lots of cost of living questions so please go through the topics in the link she has provided. Hopefully most questions you have will be answered in it.

Teaching job on that salary I wouldn't call good. Also we don't know which school. Some have a low benefit scale so that you have a lot of expenses to pay. Negotiate with the school for a better salary

Jo - I probably have a hunch which school this is  :proud  and that is about what is paid by such schools. In fact this school's salary scale is slightly higher than that of "another" set of schools.

450BHD for a qualified and experienced teacher is poor.  Be careful.

Bahrain is not cheap and this salary will not suffice for a comfortable style of living.