Opening a bank account

This is the first time i wanted to change my account. I previously had my account at Mega Bank but the problem i faced was it doesn't have much branches around Kathmandu. I am a student so I need money frequently. But whenever I have money I deposit it for my future need. From the first time I wanted to open an account in Standard Chartered Bank but I don't know what is the minimum deposit for the local residence for opening an account.

The bank will let you know.. but I would guess that the amount to start an account is very, very low.  I am basing this on personal experience and from two young friends who opened accounts in two other Kathmandu banks.

Nabil or Machhapuchhre may be fine for you..

Opening an account in the bank for transactions within the Kathmandu city is not so problem , many commercial banks are there with their corporate offices and their branches in prime locations. there are joint venture banks, local national banks and regional development banks. the most reliable banks of their many branches are consider to be commercial banks. they are 30 in number and one of them is Civil Bank whose number of branches are within the city areas, where I am working at present. if you really want to open an account with us than we can provide you the branch list within the city and also outside the valley. Apart from this we can arrange national and international debit card for easy transactions within the city as well as in other part of the country. Besides this you can be facilitated with e- banking services for easy banking facilities.

not sure I am answering your question, and I don't know whether you are a foreigner or not, a resident or not, but do bear the following in mind anyway.

if you have a rupee account, nepalese rupees are not convertible, which means only one thing: