Profit and loss statement, foreign income?

hi
i am a self employed permanent resident, working from malta for companies in other countries.
i am now considering to leave malta.
until now, i have not been reporting the money that i spent here for living. I suppose this was a mistake and needs to be amended. However, how detailed does this report have to be? I am not trying to avoid the tax i need to pay, just didnt realise it. But i am afraid i do not have all the details to reconstruct what i spent i  the last few years while on the island.

Secondly, does the profit and los acount need to include turnover generated outside of Malta, that was not brought into the country? I have been assuming that returning a profit and loss account of the money as long as it is valid for Maltese Tax reasons, i.e. nil, would have sufficed. As such, i have sometimes included a pl acct with all zeroes, amd sometimes did not attach the profit and loss account.

Now i am in doubt, should i file a change to my tax returns for the last years, and should the accompanying profit and loss account include the foreign turnover?

thanks

Your posting is not very clear on what you are currently doing.
Do you have a Maltese tax number and have you filed tax returns for the years you have lived / worked in Malta?
Are you registered as self employed in Malta?
You should have declared any monies remitted to Malta regardless of where it is earned.

It may pay you to ask advise from  an accountant who understands Malta's tax system.

Terry

hi Terry, sorry for omitting those details.
Yes, i have a tax number, registered as self employed. Did only spend some of the money in Malta, rest is not remitted.

I did file the tax returns, as I mentioned only with all zeroes. The main question I have is, should the profit loss statement show the money generated outside Malta, just for the part that is remitted, or not at all?

sailor75 wrote:

hi Terry, sorry for omitting those details.