I am offered a job in PNG

I am offered a job in Port Moresby, PNG as a primary care physician, with a 3 years contract ( on probation ) depending of my job performance. Salary offered is at 2,000 USD to be deposited directly to my phil. Bank acct. And 3,000 PNG kina with some deductions for food, tax. Is this compensation fair. Would love to hear some insights, before i decide. This is my first time to work outside the phils. I'll be leaving behind my son. Is it worth it? What do you thinks guys. Thanks.

rhizamd wrote:

I am offered a job in Port Moresby, PNG as a primary care physician, with a 3 years contract ( on probation ) depending of my job performance. Salary offered is at 2,000 USD to be deposited directly to my phil. Bank acct. And 3,000 PNG kina with some deductions for food, tax. Is this compensation fair. Would love to hear some insights, before i decide. This is my first time to work outside the phils. I'll be leaving behind my son. Is it worth it? What do you thinks guys. Thanks.

There are other things to take into consideration.
Does the employer supply safe accommodation and transportation
Yearly return airfares
Medical insurance cover
Is the US dollar salary tax free, or does the employer pay tax out of that. Tax is around 30%

Hi rhizamd,

A new thread has been created with your question on the Papua New Guinea forum for more visibility. :)

Thanks,

Priscilla

Hi rhiza, good day i had an offer to in Lae but negotiated and they gave me 3000 USD net pay, free accommodation, flight, med insurance, 3 years contract also. But still contemplating cause of the issue of safety! I will still negotiate other conditions like free utilities, more net pay, and to further discuss the employment terms, they havent disclose all the details yet cause they want me to sign first my acceptance, which I defer for the moment!