Italo-american in need of advice

Hallo,
My biggest dream would be to relocate from USA to Malta.I am Sicilian but I went to college in USA and lived there since.I have a double citizenship and I am a certified cardiovascular nurse with 8 years experience..I would do anything just to move closer to home and Malta is my dream place.From what I have read I need a language proficiency test (!!!) And certified transcrits...I am so afraid of missing something or not be able to apply....but after that how long and how do I find a job?should I apply in person or how do I find a recruiter? Please help me!!!!thank you I am homesick and desperate.Giuliana

Hi Giuliana,

your first and most important step is to register as a nurse with the Maltese Council for Nurses and MIdwives. This will take some time but it should not be a big problem . The certificates have to be in English but as you are in the US that should be ok anyway otherwise they have to be translated and certified. You can do this from the USA.

Finding a nursing job in Malta should not be too difficult but you have to be in Malta first. The salaries will be a lot lower than what you are used to in the US.

There are 2 state hospitals in Malta and Gozo and several private hospitals. There are also a few cardiologists in private practices.

Cheers
Ricky

Thank you Ricky so much! I will gladly trade salary for sunshine and the wonderful feeling of being home.To be clear,when you say certificates, do you mean like notarized?All of my transcripts  are in English already...I think I better give the council a phone call wouldn't't you say?..please if you think of anything else or any lead or detail keep me in mind, I am already thankful for your help but extremely overwhelmed.Thank you again!
Giuliana

Hi giuliana,