Moving to Norway as Self-Employed person.

Hello everyone.

I'm a designer & web developer from Ukraine. For some time I was trying to find best country to move from Ukraine. Top reasons are low level of life in general and civil unrest that makes it very hard to work from here. I'm working remotely for US company. We don't want to move from US even as employer suggest that. We want to settle down in very calm small town in a country that is safe, with high level of life where nothing really happens - no war, revolutions, civil unrest, etc. We choose Norway after our honeymoon in Oslo.

As I already have a contract with US company and I don't want to change my job I probably need to register as self employed person. I would like to know how difficult it is to move that way. Maybe someone can share their experience?

Thanks!

Hei! Here is the link of the requirements for self-employed persons moving to Norway:

udi.no/Norwegian-Directorate-of-Immigration/Central-topics/Work-and-residence/Apply-for-a

I hope this helps you a bit.

Hello,

Are you planning to register as a company here and sell services to your US employer? I'm sure you are aware that the cost of living is much higher in Norway, so you would need an income of quite a lot of dollars to cover living expenses. Also be aware that if you are getting paid in dollars the amount you get in NOK will be subject to variations in the exchange rate. Probably you have already thought of these things, but I just mention them anyway.

Good luck,

David

Yes. You get it right. That's obviously the only way I can immigrate without changing my current job as far as I know. I'm aware about higher cost of living and taxes. I was just wondering maybe there is someone with same story here and can share experience.

Thanks for reply!