Issues that faces new expats

Hi all,
I am Ahmed from Egypt, 27 yrs old, I am thinking about moving to Malaysia but I have some concerns:
- an expat cannot buy an apartment or a flat for less than 1 million RM, is that true?
- finding a job for expats is difficult, I am a senior software developer (java), is that true for me?
- what is the salary range that is considered appropriate for good living in Malaysia?
- Are there any other issue that faces expats when settling in Malaysia?
Your help is much appreciated. :)

Hi I think you are letting the tail wag the dog. "considering moving to Malaysia" should come AFTER You get an offer. Otherwise you should focus on applying for jobs around the world and when tou have offers think about that more.

Although yes now 1 million min to buy property but in kl that isn't a lot. Min salary if single 10k if married 15k with 2 kids >5 years old 20k as school fees are horrendous.And the price if cars is unbelievable.

Getting a job isn't easy, but quite doable in your case.

aelhadidy wrote:

Hi all,
I am Ahmed from Egypt, 27 yrs old, I am thinking about moving to Malaysia but I have some concerns:
- an expat cannot buy an apartment or a flat for less than 1 million RM, is that true?
- finding a job for expats is difficult, I am a senior software developer (java), is that true for me?
- what is the salary range that is considered appropriate for good living in Malaysia?

Why Malaysia? :)

You have better chances of finding a job if you are a white man or belong to one of the English speaking countries cause lol obviously they worship whites in South East Asia.

:cheers:

Thanks all for your feedback,
I chose Malaysia because of its strong economy, friendly people, affordable cost of living, great education and healthcare services,
it is rated 29th in the Global Peace Index (Egypt is 113)
Also I am a Muslim and Malaysia has 60% Muslims so the cultural deference will be acceptable