Bahrain - job offer

Hi all,

To introduce myself, I am from India currently working in a bank (Corporate Banking) in India. I am an engineer and an MBA from one of the premier B-Schools of India with approx 8 years of work ex (of which 1 years related to credit and 5.5 years in banking). I am in advanced discussions for a role in Corporate Banking in Bahrain (Manama). The salary offered is 2000 bhd / month, 800/bhd for housing is separate and paid directly to house owner; others - life and medical insurance, and family air tickets once a year. Additionally, performance bonus could be around 6000 bhd annually. Request if someone themselves in the financial services / banking domain in Bahrain could guide me if the salary offered is fair and in line with the current market scenario considering my experience?

Secondly, I will move with my wife and a small kid. From the blog, I could gauge that the salary is reasonable but compared to an existing Indian salary of approx 13000 bhd (post tax), does it make sense to shift? Is the salary offered good enough?

How is the schooling for Indian kids in Bahrain? decent schools and availability? cost?

Lastly, just confirming, is there any taxation apart from the 1% for social fund... does India have a DTAA with Bahrain, not sure if the income in Bahrain will be taxed in India? any thoughts..

Any help will be appreciated..

Best Regards

Hi Alexi

Thanks for your message.

Answers to your questions below:
1) Salary and benefits sound reasonable for someone with your profile.
2) Bankers are good employers. Bahrain is a capitalist economy. Whilst employment in banks is stable, you can get fired for bad performance and due to bad economic conditions.
3) Banking sector is a bit sluggish now. Used to be boom time a few years back.