Planning summer info trip

I am new to this forum and planning a trip this summer with my wife and 18 month old daughter with the objective of getting a first hand look and feel of the country.  My wife is from the Dominican Rep and I have been there many times and also to Costa Rica but CR last time was 9 yrs ago but been thru that entire country many times; but I know things change a lot in 9 years.  I remember Liberia w/out an airport.  Now time to check out all the great things I read and hear about Panama!
Anyways we are looking to relocate within the next few years and do the retirement thing...I am a physical education teacher and we live in Miami, FL.  We are looking to visit several towns such as Boquete, David, El Valle, Pedasi, Las Tablas, Coronado, Altos de Cerro Azul....this is very tentative places and open to change but want an area where my daughter will get a good education and there are some expats.  Any suggestions of a rough draft itinerary of a 2 week trip would be greatly appreciated!  We will rent a car and not into the group tour stuff!  Thanks...Pete M.

We are former teachers from Broward (originally from Hialeah) and retired in Boquete.  There are quite a few families with school-age children here.  It seems that there are several options for them.  Panamanian schools, the American School, homeschooling, virtual out of Florida, and a mixture.  The summer is a good time to visit schools in your target areas since it is now 'summer vacation' in Panama so schools are closed until next month.  The American school is currently building a new facility and currently goes through the 10th grade.