Apartment Rental Limitation

Hello Guys,

I am new in HCMC, I am living in a Hotel now in Phu My Hung, I was looking to rent a room and my friends told me that there are some limitation for a foreigner to rent an apartment in VN. They said that I can only rent an apartment once I have a work permit so that the police authorities will not ask questions, is this statement true? I hold the Canadian passport. I have called an real estate agent to ask about these limitations but she did not answer her phone.
Also I am looking to move out of the hotel if all is possible, so if there are no such and other limitation, I am looking to rent a room or share a room, preferably in Phu My Hung as well.
Any input is greatly appreciated.

Tim

titanium_arm wrote:

Hello Guys,

I am new in HCMC, I am living in a Hotel now in Phu My Hung, I was looking to rent a room and my friends told me that there are some limitation for a foreigner to rent an apartment in VN. They said that I can only rent an apartment once I have a work permit so that the police authorities will not ask questions, is this statement true? I hold the Canadian passport. I have called an real estate agent to ask about these limitations but she did not answer her phone.
Also I am looking to move out of the hotel if all is possible, so if there are no such and other limitation, I am looking to rent a room or share a room, preferably in Phu My Hung as well.
Any input is greatly appreciated.

Tim

You do not need a work permit to rent. I rent a house and am registered with the police and all I have is a Visa Exemption. There are some places foreigners are not allowed to rent though. You should have no problem with most houses and larger apartment buildings.

Thank you Parmyd

You can rent a house or apartment on a tourist visa. One place to look is to find a cafe in the area where expats normally hang out and ask the staff about if they know of any places for rent, they usually do.