Who is allowed to participate in the forums?

When I joined this website I was under the impression that it is a place for expats to ask questions and offer advice based on their experience.  This is what attracted me here as I have lived in a few countries and may have some helpful information to somebody somewhere.  I am no expert but it is possible.

But it seems as though some forums are patrolled by people who do not want any opinions that are not like their own.  This is all too common on political debate websites but I would consider it a poor idea on a website such as this since different views are more helpful to a greater variety of people.  No one person has all the answers.  But I have been online long enough to know that older and more popular members are always in charge.  A new member has little hope of changing the tone of any such website.  If the people in charge are hostile then it will be a hostile website.  If they are happy then it will be a happy website.

I am not allowed to participate in the USA forum.  Fair enough.  I lived in the United States as an expat for several years and might be able to answer some questions posed by other expats but I am not here to change the rules.  I understand how these things work.

What I would like to know from the moderators is how new members are to know in which forums they are allowed to participate.  Surely there is a better way than to post in a forum only to be greeted with open hostility by the ruling class.  This will likely drive people away.  I have to doubt that most people come to this website for hateful sarcasm and personal attacks.  If I am in error then please let me know sooner rather than later.