Long time AA member needs help moving to Ecuador

Live in Ecuador 6mos/25yr AA member/ place to live??

Hello,
I plan to live abroad for about 6mos starting in the fall of 2014 & looking to develop my plan. I am leaning in the direction of Ecuador because of neutral Spanish, use of US currency and it sounds like a good choice.
FYI  cheers.png?v=1
* single, healthy 47yo man(divorced for 10 yrs.)
*active hiker and outdoors enthusiast
*sober member of AA for 25 yrs.
*studying Spanish with Rosetta Stone (Latin America) as hobby for 2 years.
*AS, BA, and MA degrees (business and management communication)
*currently working in insurance industry and will make career change after living abroad.
*very outgoing, friendly and helpful person
*I am a white collar professional, however, I have over 25 years experience working in construction industry as a manager and or trades person ( I am very handy)

My goal is to get a place to live, have some established contacts to hike with, line up  tutor or some people to fully emerge in Spanish use with and to find AA meetings I can regularly attend. HELP!!
--Leo

There are AA meetings in Quito and Cuenca that I know of, not much else, as it is mostly a gringo thing.  I take it you do not intend to stay longer than 6 months, just extend the 3 month tourist visa and then go home again?  Actually earning money in construction in Ecuador could be a real challenge.  You will find a lot of help on here if you ask the right questions, but many take the weekend off.

My goal is to get a place to live, have some established contacts to hike with, line up  tutor or some people to fully emerge in Spanish use with and to find AA meetings I can regularly attend. HELP!!

Leo:

Welcome to the group. I just arrived in Quito this week, so I'm still finding my way around. Haven't attended an AA meeting yet, but will soon.

You don't say where you are planning to stay, but here is a list of several cities with English-speaking AA meetings: