Non-Finnish speaking Brit possibly moving to Finland - Any advice....?

Hi there,

I'm after any kind of advice/suggestion in regards to my current situation, as I'm currenly unsure of what to do & how to progress, & am hoping some of you on here may have similar experiances.....

The short version of my story is that I met my Finnish girlfriend while living abroad. We returned to the UK in February & subsequently found out we were expecting a baby (due in November). Since then things haven't really worked out & she has returned to Finland while I am still in the UK.

From our ongoing discussions it would seem as if there is no chance of her returning to the UK (depite it being the best & most sensible thing to do for all involved) & I obviously want to be there to bring up my child. Therefore, I am currently considering moving to Helsinki to be nearer them.

My main concerns are around the language & work. I am a Business Analyst for a bank & am earning half-decent money, but should I move I have no real savings to live off & therefore need a job asap (anything considered). As I do not speak Finnish, I'm pretty sure any 'professional' job role is out of the question for the time-being, so am wondering what else (if anything) is available out there...... or if anybody knows of any decent, English-speaking, recruitment agencies out there?

Also, I would obviously learn the language, but would like private lessons on arrival (just to get me up to speed with the basics) - are there many English/Finnish speaking tutor over there at all?

Any help or advice would be greatly appreciated!

Steve

Hi Steve

Below a link to my article.
(moderated)

Please do not hesitate to get it touch if there is somethingI can do for you

Regards
Marja Saviaro
(moderated: no free publicity pls)

Steve,
Life sure is complicated, isn't it? Don't worry, it will all work out in the end so stay confident on that front.