English Teacher Seaking Opportunities

Hello, I live in Santo Domingo, and have been here two years and traveled here for 8 years previously. I am currently teaching English at a popular university here and for another job where I go to various banks and businesses teaching English to professionals.

I enjoy the work very much, but I want to move out of the city. I am interested in opportunities in smaller towns or pueblos, or in the campo. I speak enough Spanish to provide instruction and to understand questions that come up in class.

This is my first time in the Expat.com. So far I am impressed with the blogs and content, much better than other sites I have seen.

If anyone can steer me in the right direction for resource and contacts, I would greatly appreciate it.

Thanks

Welcome Steve! I too am in Santo Domingo. You may want to try the various language schools on the north coast and Punta Cana.

Welcome to the forum.

There may be jobs here on the north coast. There are lots of companies geared to tourism and English is very important for their employees. With the new cruise port opening next year the demand for English speaking workers will be even greater here.

Bob K

Hello and thank you. Most of my travels here have been in Cibao and the north coast. I know of companies and industry that are making investments here. I know of some efforts to exploit and to attract tourist dollars and make business. I have traveled here for 8 years before deciding to live here. Can you tell me what companies and locations and industries are growing here ?

As you know here, and have more experience than I do, so much is based on who you know and where specifically to apply.

I do appreciate your assistance.

Steve