Top hiring sectors in São Paulo

Hi,

let's talk about job opportunities in São Paulo.

What are the top hiring sectors?

And according to you, what are the most promising job sectors, which will keep creating jobs in São Paulo?

Thanks in advance for sharing your experience,

Julien

Hi Julien,

I'm going to bring this topic back to the top, because I think it's a missed opportunity for people to discuss what actually ARE the hiring sectors in São Paulo.

I work in banking and finance, and this sector is very quiet (apart from people seeking investment in various projects - and there's not a great deal of interest as growth slowed from 8% to 1% so investors are chasing better returns elsewhere).

My wife has been contacted about a lot of jobs working as a bi-lingual receptionist / secretary. She lived and worked in London for 11 years, so is very fluent in English. She did get a job as a receptionist at a big law firm for 2,000 Reias a month. A paltry sum.

The big boss came back to work, and had a meeting with my wife, and promptly told her that she was overapaid, and that she expected her to pretty much 'jump through hoops' to keep the job.  I told my wife to tell her to F*** off and resign ;-)

Since then, in 3 months, they have had 3 more different receptionists, each leaving after a short period of time.

Certainly, there is short-termism here in Brazil (def in SP anyway), and a lack of ability to see the bigger picture, along with investment in the longer term.

I would expect that IT and media are probably the industries to be in... but would be interested in hearing anybody else's views ?

Hi Paul,

Unfortunately the short-termism is not limited to São Paulo by any means. A Brazilian's idea of long-term planning is something for next week or maybe at the most next month. That is epidemic all over this country and I'm sure it trickles down from Brasília.