I want to hear your experiences of Americanization of China for a film

Hi.

I have recently moved to Beijing from the UK & have been suprised to see how much of an influence America has had on the Chinese culture.

I am studying Directing Film here & am about to make a fictional film about an American girl moving to Beijing & meeting her Chinese roommate.

I would love to here anyones experiences of Americas impact on China.

A lot of my Chinese friends are in love with America, do other Chinese feel the same & can you explain why?

Also what do people from the States feel about America being so popular in Beijing?
- style, look, food, marketing etc?

Is this a good thing  or a bad thing?

Thanks in advance, I look forward to hearing your experiences.

All the best,

Britt

I find Chinese people far more interested in Korean pop culture.

All of the following comments are of my own opinion and don't reflect the American people as a whole. I really love movie by the way and I think this movie could be something I watch. The love for Americans by the Chinese is somewhat baffling to me I would guess it would have to do with our economic success in recent history. Maybe the the fact that one of our presidents help to open China up to the rest of the world. Many American things have been integrated into the culture such as McDonald's, KFC, Pizzahut, Sports athletics like Nike, Adidas, and American movies like the transformers, and American tv shows like Prison break they really love that show. Things that I may not look as our best qualities the Chinese may see differently they may see them as power such as our obesity numbers or wars with other countries. Maybe they think this shows strength.
Maybe it is our confidence that they admire our "freedom of speech" and independence. They feel the pride that we have as Americans. They think we are funny they like how respectful we can be. Some of these ideas come from my Chinese Girlfriend.