English teaching qualification in Budapest

Hello!

I fell in love with Budapest when I was there last year and am planning to move there to try to find a job teaching English. Could anyone who is teaching there now answer a few questions for me?

1. Is it necessary to have some kind of teaching qualification? I have a college degree in English, but I've never taught before and I don't have any certification. If so, which qualification is best? I've heard about the CELTA but it's kind of expensive...

2. How easy is it to find a job? How about housing?

3. What is the average salary like?

Hope someone can help. Thanks!

If you are a US citizen, to work (legally) in Hungary (or in Europe) you generally first need to get a work visa (or marry a European then request residency under family re-unification rights, or have dual citizenship already yourself). Americans just coming to Europe and looking for work without the proper visa is as generally frowned upon as a non-US citizens coming to America without a work visa looking for work....

That being said, there are a few bloggers here who are teachers. Might consider contacting them for their experiences if they do not chime in here directly themselves.

Hi there,

To be honest, I could not answer your questions, but check the site below. They search native speakers. They may be able to answer and help you:

angolintezet.hu/hu/job_offers_for_native_english_teachers_in_budapest_hungary?sid=

Hi, I am a freelance English teacher in Budapest. When you start out it's best to get some work through a language school. About half of them require some sort of TEFL/CELTA/TESOL type qualification but some will just require a degree.
One thing I would mention is that you need to be able to explain English grammar thoroughly, so it is worth doing a qualification anyway.