What to consider before moving to Ulaanbataar?

Hello everyone,

I'm a female Canadian ESL teacher in my mid-thirities, who is seriously considering accepting a position as an English language teacher in Ulaanbataar, Mongolia. I've been doing a little research online about what life is like in such a remote part of the world. I'm used to cold weather (although Toronto is not as cold as many other parts of the country), but I have no idea how the apartments are in Ulaanbataar, what the ex-pat community is like, and how easy/hard is it for a woman living alone in Mongolia, is there a lot of street harassment, or need to wear modest clothing? I would potentially be arriving in January, the coldest month of the year!

Essentially, what are the pro's and con's of living in Mongolia?

thank you in advance,
Li.

Hi Li,

Welcome to Expat.com :)

You can browse through the discussions on the Mongolia forum for more information please :)

Are you looking for accommodation ?

Thank you

Maximilien
Expat.com Team

Hi Maximilien,

In terms of accommodation, the company I am working for has said they would find it for me but I have no idea what a "higher end" one bedroom apartment in UB would look like or what I should expect/request.

Laundry facilities? (Coin laundry in building, for example?)
Do all apartments have full bathrooms?
Utilities?

What's the best part of the city to live in?

Hi there, I am moving there in December, did you get a response about where the best part of  Ulaanbataar?  Kim

Moderated by Christine 8 years ago
Reason : deleted - requested by the author

Well I'm not really sure what your responding to.  My question was in regards to Ulan Batar and you wrote about Cambodia.

Simply asking about a new town and what to expect..ie..what is a good place to live, what is there to do and just in general the climate etc.