U.S. Ex-Pat - Question Re: Prescription Drugs

Hi, I live in the U.S. but will soon be working in China (Tianjin) as an english instructor. Since I will have to purchase prescription drugs (blood pressure, cholesterol) at retail cost at my own expense, I am looking for guidance on what most ex-pats do in the same situation.  That is, do you buy generic drugs from a mail-order site (e.g. if so, which one(s) are recommended) or are equivalent drugs available from Chinese pharmacies?   Thank you, Dennis

hi ,

i am an Indian doctor and a post graduate student in Orthopaedic surgery living in china for two years , my advice is, when you are in china , go to a hospital with your prescription and ask the doctor to prescribe the same medicine as in your old prescription , this time the prescription will be in Chinese and you can buy them in the hospital's pharmacy. All the latest Alopathic drugs are available here in China , so you don't have to buy them in the internet or anywhere outside.

Regarding the consultation its not expensive and it would just cost 5rmb( chinese yuans ) per consultation . Medicines are expensive when compared to India, but , i think it must be cheaper or equal to United states.

(Note: If the doctor couldn't identify the medicines tell him to use an English- Chinese Pharmacology translator )

if you have any doubts email me

regards ,
Arun

I agree with maximus,

I'm Canadian and I live in Beijing, I have high blood pressure and I buy medicine from a Chinese pharmacy via a Chinese doctor's prescription.

I don't know the rules when you buy your online prescriptions and have them sent here by mail what would happen, they might not allow it at the customs.

Last year I was in Montreal, and due to some unexpected problems I was stuck there for more than 3 months and I had run out of medicine, I asked my wife to send me some from China, but the drugs were stopped at the Canadian customs and there was no way I was able to contact them...

Good luck