Visa agent

Does anyone know of a good visa agent in Medan?

hello i'm an agent but i am in jakarta !!!

Go to immigration and ask around.
There's usually a bunch of them hanging there. If you ask at the reception desk, they'll be most likely to suggest their friends and that commonly means a smooth path for the paperwork.

Thank you Rechter, but it is a little long way to go :-)

Terima kasih Mas Fred, that sounds like a good idea!

Competent visa agents can be a great way to go for those of us who think of time as money. 

The reality is that most all Indonesian immigration offices have gotten “their act together” in recent years, and there is less need these days to use agents as there was in past days.  What this means is that these days it is far easier (although still time consuming) to directly deal with immigration authorities.

As a direct result of this “more friendly immigration environment” many agents have had to increase their fees as business wanes in the wake of the “new” and more “friendly” immigration office environment.

Certain visas require local sponsorship, and that alone can often be the singular best reason to use a licensed visa agent…as they will sponsor such visas.

Bottom line advice from me is pretty simple.  Get the price from the immigration office you are dealing with for the visa services you seek, (and they should be posted), and then consider if using an agent, with her or his fees make sense for you.

Thank you very much Ubudian! That sounds very clever, and yes, I will look for a social visa further on which needs a sponsor, but I have friends who could be that as well, but we'll see.

Anna, don't even think about a social cultural visa anymore.

There is no need for you to go that route as all 60 day visit visas are the same, visit, or sosbud (as they are often called here).